The Perfect Scarfette

     I’ve been sick with a cold for the past couple of days, so I was thinking that winter must be upon us soon. When I think of winter, I think of heavier jackets, sweaters, cute little mittens, cocoa, and warm things. Nothing is better than sitting in on a snowy day with a hot mug of cocoa watching a good movie, and maybe doing a bit of crocheting or knitting, don’t you agree?
     I sat down for a moment, and thought about how I could make myself warmer this winter to prevent more colds. I have a large stash of yarn, and I needed something to make to get rid of it all. Most of which I have bought from thrift stores, chain stores such as Walmart, and others were passed down to me.
     One particular yarn caught my eye in my stash. This yarn was the softest that I have ever come across. I bought it at a flea market in town, which was a complete steal for six dollars for three balls of it. I have no idea what brand name the yarn is, nor how much there actually is. It’s the prettiest color – a mix of soft white and pastel pinks and blues. Perhaps this yarn is wool, which would be perfect for the Perfect Scarfette!
     Now I have never made my own pattern before. Actually, that’s a lie. I tried to, but nothing comes out the right way, or the way that I have made the finished piece. This time, I wrote as I crocheted, just so I can have a glimpse of what the scarfette would look like as a pattern in the end.
     I decided to post the pattern here on my blog, completely free, for everyone to enjoy.
 However, there is no picture as of yet, because I am still completing the scarfette. I’ll edit this entry as soon as a picture is taken!

Materials:
*Size I crochet hook
*Wool yarn of your choice (the yarn that I chose did not have a specific brand name)

Instructions:
Chain 40.
Row 1 (WS): Hdc in third chain from hook, hdc in each chain across.
Row 2 (RS): Chain 2, *hdc in back loop of next stitch, hdc in front loop of next stitch* repeat from * to * across.
Row 3 (WS): Chain 2, hdc across.
Row 4 (RS): Repeat Row 2.
Row 5 (WS): Repeat Row 3.
Repeat rows 4 and 5 until you have your desired length. You don’t want to make a complete scarf, just something that will cover your neck, and then hang down a couple of inches.
Fasten off, and weave in all ends.
You may also add a brooch or decorative pin to the scarfette if you desire.

***If you intend on using this pattern, please do not sell the pattern. You may sell the actual finished product, just not the pattern. Also, please do not say the pattern is your own. Link back to my blog and give credit where credit is due.

*UPDATE: Because the scarfette only used one and a half out of the three balls of yarn, I decided to make a matching headband for it. I’ll jot down the pattern for the rest of you to enjoy soon!

About Ashley

I'm seventeen, and a senior in high school. This is my blog of my crafting I do in my spare time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

